Show reviews that mention
home house lgi homes money people sales credit earnest money construction
Filter review

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
Be VERY careful! They are very good at using tricky, deceitful wording when they are trying to sell you a home. Every month, something new pops up. For example, I was told that the HOA fees would be covered by LGI for the first year. Surprise! I got a bill in the mail...
View full review
View full review
ID
#1811852 Review #1811852 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Lgi Homes Home Buying
Pros
  • Location
Cons
  • Being lied to and ignored
  • Misleading - lying
  • Lies and work ethic
Loss
$1000
Preferred solution
Pay the HOA fees for an entire year, as promised!!! HOA fees should be paid from 12/27/2019 - 12/27/2020.

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Avoid at all Cost

I'm relocating to Dallas to be with my fiance. During my stay, we focused on looking for areas we wanted to live in and slim down our list of builders. Our research started online 2 weeks in advance and than we hit the streets. Our top picks were LGI, Bloomfield, and Lennar based off price, structure, and communities. Visiting LGI in person was alot different than all the builders we visited previously that day, (Lennar, Bloomfield, DR Horton, and Gehan.) I felt like I was buying a timeshare when visiting LGI. We just wanted to see model homes, layouts, design, and quality. Upon entering the LGI homes, we saw tables set up with multiple visitors filling out paperwork just to be able to talk to a salesman. We were told to have a sit and a salesmen will be right with us. As the salesman sat down we felt ambushed. Questions like: have we done a pre-approval, do we know our interest rate, do we want a one or two story, how many bedrooms, etc. We explained we are just here to look and get a feel for builders and their home design. Once hearing that, it was like the salesman was uninterested. He stated we can take a look around the office which is one of the model homes. We asked if there were any more, he pointed out there MAYBE 2 on the street behind the office and they MAYBE open. Unfortunately, they weren't open and we left feeling like we have made the right decision by bypassing this builder due to an unwelcoming, unhelpful, and dingy property and thank GOD because due to the reviews we lucked out. Seems like LGI is for people that are in a hurry to buy, don't have the best credit options, or don't do their research before buying. So, we have narrowed our search to Bloomfield and DR Horton where we received help with questions and more information we never thought we needed.
View full review
2 comments
#1949580

My best friend owned a DR Horton... They are AWFUL!

#1892079

Child you didn't luck out. You went to the worst I mean the WORST Builder DR Horton.

if you buy a home from them you will have a crack crumbling new house. There are 1000's of bad reviews about DR Horton.

Everyone say to run don't walk. Good luck cause you are gonna need child.

View more comments (1)
ID
#1811485 Review #1811485 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Lgi Homes Home Buying
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

DO NOT BYE ARE LEASE FROM THESE HOME BUILDERS

I am leasing a home in the Palomino Ranch subdivision in Lamarque Tx these homes were built by LGI HOMES BUILDERS the manage by TRICON American Homes the first leasing home had major voltage feedback issues 8 Comcasts cable equipment destroyed the second home had numerous flaws and the have not been fixed to date. They are building new leasing homes on my street construction contractors are rude disrespectful in the leasing community 7 days a week loud amplifier speakers staying beyond the work hours havent got any sleep for months.
View full review
1 comment
#1850436

L.G. I homes is all kinds of a scam.

Poor construction very cheap. Homes too close toghter. H. O.

a overly controling. pushy sales people who lie.

alotof crime in thehood and NO security. Big waste of space.

ID
#1794885 Review #1794885 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Texas City, Texas
Service
Lgi Homes House Construction

Ac unit don't have a drip pan so now the roof is peeling off from water damage

LGI Homes - Ac unit don't have a drip pan so now the roof is peeling off from water damage
Like I said a drip pan wasn't put so it leaked on the floor which is above my dining room roof ceiling which now needs repairs done
View full review
Featured
ID
#1771358 Review #1771358 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Lgi Homes House Construction

Run. &. Quickly

I was shown. The allationa. I kinda liked. It but. Went bck. On my own. Yikes cheap. Cheap. Construction. The walls inside. The. Home r stucco. - &. It’s 1 giant. Room w a small window in back wall no fireplaces. @. All & the open concept. Kitchen w. Great room. Uh Not. - one giant. Kitchen island but. Very cheap. Appliances. &. Went bck. To take. Pics. - saw the stucco. Walls. - which. Obv. Major. Turn. Off. &. Then apparently. This. Home. Was. Under. Contract. But. There was. A huge. Puddle. Of water. To the. Right. If kitchen island. Obv. Thhe. Plumber. Didn’t. Know. What he was. Doing. Also. Read other negative. Reviews. Ppl. Said. They. Bought. &. Diff things went. Wrong. Or had. Issues. &. Were. Told. By. Management. Ih yes. We’ll. Hve. Someone. Out there. ASAP. NOPE. THIS. UNSUSPECTING. BUYER. GOT. DUPED. MORE. LIKE SCREWED. STAY. AWAY. FAR FAR. AWAY. !!!
View full review
3 comments
#1892076

What the *** is wrong with you idiot? You must never went to school in America.

You don't suppose to put a period on every word you type. And you don't suppose to use fragment sentencing. I CAN'T READ YOUR STUPIDITY MAN.

Your grammer SUCK!!!!!!!!!! GO BACK TO SCHOOL MF!!!!!!!

#1806620

This. Home.

I looked. @. Was in bogart.

Ga. Bad news.

#1806623
@PissedConsumer1806620

*** Construction. - walls.

Inside. The home. We’re stucco. - 1.

Huge. Room. But a very. Small window.

@. Bck. Wall &. No fireplaces.

-room. Looked. Very. Odd &.

Apparently. The plumber. That. Did the.

Plumb. Work. - no clue. Giant.

Puddle. If water. To right.of kitchen area. Talk about.

A chance. To fall. &. A possible.

Buyer. To. File. A suit.

Against. LGI. homes For getting hurt. From.

Leaking.

Water. On the floor.

View more comments (2)
ID
#1761233 Review #1761233 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Smyrna, Georgia
Service
Lgi Homes House Construction

Bad customers services

A year ago we bought a house and the window frames took off ... so I called the offices of Cape Coral that was where he sold the house. The secretary told me that she would contact me via email to send me a service request #. That never happened. She never contacted me. Then I went to the office personally and took the pictures of how bad the windows are and I said they would call me soon after 3 weeks and nobody contacted me. I went back to the office and a sales representative AGAIN took my information and he told me that the window managers would contact me soon. Today my husband returned to the offices and they continue saying the same thing that someone is going to contact us. Of this already more than 2 months and nobody gives me information of WHO TO REPAIR MY WINDOWS ????
View full review
1 comment
#1875295

L GI IS CON MEN ITS A RIPP OFF YOUR HOME WELL FALL APART FASTER THAN THE 30 DAYS IT TOOK TO BULID IT

ID
#1729374 Review #1729374 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Lgi Homes Customer Care
Reason of review
Damaged or defective
Preferred solution
fix my windows

They don’t stand by their warranty

I’ve been complaining about the standing water in my yard since I moved in in July. We put down sod because we were told that wouldn’t have the water issue any longer. We’ve had standing water in our back yard for 26 days. The landscaper came in and redirected the water from the side of the house to the backyard.
View full review
ID
#1705121 Review #1705121 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Creedmoor, North Carolina
Product
Lgi Homes Warranty
Reason of review
Warranty issue

Once they have your money, they ghost if there is a problem

LGI Homes - Once they have your money, they ghost if there is a problem
LGI Homes - Once they have your money, they ghost if there is a problem
LGI Homes - Once they have your money, they ghost if there is a problem
LGI Homes - Once they have your money, they ghost if there is a problem
LGI Homes - Once they have your money, they ghost if there is a problem
LGI Homes - Once they have your money, they ghost if there is a problem
Update by user Nov 06, 2019

The value should read $10,000

Original review posted by user Nov 06, 2019
IF YOU ARE A VETERAN GO ELSE WHERE I am warning all veterans and prospective homebuyers to not use LGI for a home builder, this company has been nothing but a nightmare. I moved into an LGI home with my wife and we thought it was our dream home. We were extremely happy until it came down to fixing problems using the work orders system. I would write work orders which would address small problems but only after calling numerous times would get fixed. When I put in a work order for my driveway I was ghosted. I started noticing flaking spots on my drive way in Oct of 18 so I placed a work order to have issue addressed, well I never got a call back. I had independent concrete contractor provide his professional opinion of my driveway. Sonny the contractor told me, “the concrete looked to be a bad mix, failed to put in the air entraining agent (or failed to order it with it), improperly floated it so much cement paste was brought to the surface, added water at the site to make it more workable, or failed to cure it correctly. The obvious sign there is a problem is the drive way is darker in color and noticeably different than all the other driveway throughout the neighborhood”. Sonny advised to have a core sample taken because he was sure with his 20 years of experience the concrete will be proven to be a bad pour and the drive way was built in haste with short cuts being used due to other concrete jobs (driveways) needing poured. I have contacted local companies to have the sample taken. I was wrong in my assumption. My neighborhood rocks, it the kind of place where people can kids can play in the street and trick or treat without worry. So, when walking and talking with neighbors, we found out some disturbing things. An LGI employee told the truth to a homeowner. LGI had an employee who was fired for not taking care of work orders. I was told Dale the foreman and oversaw the building and in charge of fixing problems was caught erasing work orders. My wife and I did our final inspection with Dale and after speaking to other neighbors, I started seeing a trend. Whenever you asked to place an item on the list to fix, Dale would haggle over the item which is consistent with many home buyers and troubling in hindsight. The work order which was placed was either erased or was never addressed. I also found out the one of my neighbors had the exact same issue where their driveway had what is called a bad pour. There was significant Spaulding for reasons beyond normal weathering. Well when the LGI management came to look at the issue I was willing to have a talk with management, but due to the loss of my father was unable to speak face to face. I placed two additional work orders once I came home to ensure the work orders would be addressed after calling the Vice President Jodi. My opinion of the conversation. The LGI management staff now knew the extent of a bad employee and will circle the wagons instead of standing by their product. So, in a classic diffusion of responsibility, I was directed to the new foreman Justin. Justin, called me, informed me he would have a team of people come out and look at my drive way. Once I called and confirmed when someone would come out, I only observed Justin by himself come out and briefly look at drive way. Justin was showing up was captured on my home security system. Justin who told me he would call me back with the results at the end of the day called me back then next morning and it was a response I had a feeling I was going to get after observing him on the camera system. Justin told me he wasn’t moving forward with the claim because he couldn’t find the previous work order that was placed over a year ago and suggested that I buy a concrete sealant. Then asked where do I work? I told him and his preplanned response is city I work in used “Chromag “(road salt) and the salt is falling off my vehicle. The entire metro area uses the same exact salt! My garage parking under that rationale would show a problem. There are parts of the drive way which my wife and I don’t drive on that are heavily spaulding. I am going to be forced into a civil suit, it’s not the money but the principal. Stand by your product. I hope whoever read this will go with another company. LGI will make promises they correct all mistakes, but it’s not true. Please consider using someone else, its not worth the hassle.
View full review
5 comments
#1774858

You need to treat people right.

#1774371

Why can’t people either stand by their product or own up when they do a crap job. Hope you get it squared away soon

#1774193

I hope you guys get this fixed!

#1774118

Thanks for letting others know. I was considering buying from them, but after your negative review I will do more research in reference to complaints and of course will consider other companies.

Thanks again. The time you used on writing the post was worth it.

#1773954

I looked at an LGI home in the springs. The staff was rude and unwilling to help with anything.

I think I dodge a bullet here.

I hope they didn't do the same thing to the foundation. Sounds like they are going to be paying out big money.

View more comments (4)
Featured
ID
#1701379 Review #1701379 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Lgi Homes House Construction
Pros
  • Nice homes
Cons
  • There reposonse to building defects
Reason of review
Bad quality
Loss
$10
Preferred solution
fix driveway

Cheap quality homes

Real cheap homes. Having issues with flooring,mold,sheetrock all kinds of issues and got the run around the first full year now i get told im out of warranty. Got a lawyer today though.
View full review
ID
#1694435 Review #1694435 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Mont Belvieu, Texas
Service
Lgi Homes House Construction
Reason of review
Bad quality
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

I need to know when i going to get my downpayment back

My name is Duhamel torres and i want to know when im hoing to receive my downpayment back..i really needed.
View full review
ID
#1675454 Review #1675454 is a subjective opinion of poster.
LGI Homes - Update: 20 Year Veterans' Success Story?
LGI Homes - Update: 20 Year Veterans' Success Story?
LGI Homes - Update: 20 Year Veterans' Success Story?
INVESTORS, and homeowners BEWARE! We were in constant communications with Dale (LGI’s closing manager for final walkthrough) since our closing walkthrough. We gave what we thought was sufficient time for Dale to respond to our concerns, but every effort was a struggle....
View full review
View full review
ID
#1642072 Review #1642072 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Lgi Homes House Construction
Pros
  • Newly built homes available without waiting long
Cons
  • You will need a lawyer to assure your transition first year
Reason of review
Bad quality
Loss
$999999
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Bad Experience

I just wanted to let you know of the horrible experience I've ever had when going to look at a builders product. I drove 30 miles to get to your Stone Creek Ranch community in Fort Worth, TX to look at your model home. While waiting in the holding area I was later approached by your sales agent Wes. I asked him if there was a one-story home that I may take a look at. His reply was when you looking to move-in. My reply to him was maybe by the end of the year. So he told me it would be a waste of time and that I would need to come back closer to when I'm look to move-in. So I asked him could I not see the product as he was very adamant as to not show me anything as he stated it's a waste of his time. The new houses during that time would look nothing like what they are now. Since he refused to show me your product it really left me unwanted and unappreciated. I was so upset as I've never had a sales agent to treat me like this ever. I've visited many builders and they have never turned me away. They at least would show me the product and point out what the changes would be. I was very interested in several community locations of your properties in Princeton, TX and Forney, TX. After this experience I'm not sure if I care to spend my money with your company. There are many other builders I can give my money to and this agent I feel needs to be reprimanded. How many other people I wonder have he treated this way.
View full review
ID
#1611655 Review #1611655 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Fort Worth, Texas
Service
Lgi Homes Sales Representative
Reason of review
Poor customer service

LGI lie to get you to sign the contract and pay down payment

Update by user Aug 25, 2019

Not resolved, they never reach out to me on my refund

Original review posted by user Jul 12, 2019
LGI said they will take care of my current apartment lease so I signed the contract and paid $1000 down, now they are not doing anything about my lease and relating fees, the sales agent had the nerves to tell me I can setup a payment plan, so they are keeping my $1000. What kind of company would lie just to get the buyer to sign a contract.? LGI and others so be aware. This is my third review I posted about how LGI Homes lied to me about taking care of my current apartment lease, and every time I write one I get so mad, I never got ripped off before until my experience with LGI, I will say this, it will never happen again...listen learned...Home Buyers, please do your research and background check/reviews on builders, and make sure you get verbal agreement in writing and amend it to the contract agreement. I’m a first time buyer and new at this game of house hunting. I call it a game because these sales agents will say just about anything to get you to sign a contract and put money down. Be smart and do your best to find a good and honest agent that will go with you when viewing homes and contract review. This is a dream for you to have the perfect home, good luck. There’s more to my story but for now I will put this into the lord hands to handle. To all the dishonest agents, home builders and mortgage company’s, how can you sleep at night knowing that you have been dishonest and ripping people off?
View full review
2 comments
#1892085

Sis sorry that happened to you but everyone should know all builders LIE! You was so gullible to believe they will pay for your apt lease.

Even a blind man knows that is a lie. Well at least you only loss $1000 and not $230,000 like thousands of other customers who bought homes from LGI.

#1738066

This issue isn’t resolved

View more comments (1)
ID
#1586327 Review #1586327 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Northeast Dallas, Texas
Service
Lgi Homes Customer Care
Cons
  • Poor explanation of product and service agreement
Reason of review
Return, Exchange or Cancellation Policy
Loss
$1000
Preferred solution
Full refund

Thirty Thousand Down Payment

I went in to look over the housing buying with LGI which to me stands for Let's Get It! It being a huge chunk of down payment change. Claimed no down payment needed just $1,350 per month. These homes are built very cheap and have zero appeal. After a quick decision to walk away I am glad I did because these people are scamming buyers and should be shut down and brought up on theft charges. They get no stars. Do not fall for their scam!
View full review
ID
#1576843 Review #1576843 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Kent, Washington
Service
Lgi Homes Home Buying
Reason of review
Not as described/ advertised

No ranch styles available in Athens, Ga

I stopped in to inquire about one of the ranch floor plans, but was told they are only building one ranch in Creekwood, the Allatoona, but none would be available until November. Which I thought was a good lead time to start buying process. But no, it seemed that since I wasn't interested in a two-story that day, I should come back it November when the homes ready to sell. Seems somewhat fair if that's the process. But when I mentioned I would bring my own financing, everything shut down and I was basically referred to their website for additional questions. This may be a great way to get into a new home if you just have minimal home-buying options. But for a major purchase like a home, I prefer to have additional options.
View full review
1 comment
#1763439

We ran into that as well when we toured houses in that subdivision. We were also told that they don’t have any Allatoona to show until November.

We mentioned having been prequalified by an outside lender and were informed that they would cover closing costs if we used their lender, but not ours.

We agreed to let him work up what the payment would be through theirs without pulling our credit out of curiosity. It was interesting, to say the least.

ID
#1573539 Review #1573539 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Athens, Georgia
Service
Lgi Homes Home Buying
Reason of review
Order processing issue